Former Super Eagles goalkeeper Dosu Joseph has branded the past and present foreign coaches of the senior national teams as ‘mechanics’ The PUNCH reports.

In the last two decades, the Nigeria Football Federation has appointed eight foreign coaches – Clemens Westerhof, Johannes Bonfrere, Philippe Troussier, Bora Milutinovic, Thijs Libregts, Berti Vogts, Lars Lagerback and Gernot Rohr to lead the team.

Only Westerhof led the team to an Africa Cup of Nations title in 1994, while Bonfrere and Rohr guided the team to a second and third place finish respectively at the tournament.

The late Stephen Keshi, a Nigerian coach, guided the team to their third AFCON title in 2013, while the late Shuaibu Amodu led the team to a bronze medal finish in 2002 and 2010.

Local coaches Christian Chukwu and Augustine Eguavoen also led the team to an AFCON bronze medal finish in 2004 and 2006.

About the author


Writer !Artist Manager! Singer ! Accountant! PROMOTER

Leave a Comment

Open chat